Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 18, 2003 - 19:33 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

After All

Routine is not always so routine really. As usual for this time of year Heather and I went out to clinic to get our flu shots. One thing is that they didn't give flu shots this year at each clinic as per usual, only a few in our area were set up for that. Big long line to cope with even if one wanted to park and walk in, the line had to be sat in. We parked, walked in, did the formalities. Heather was ahead of me and I lost track of her. Got my shot, went down to the place they were giving the pneumonia shots. It was way over five years since I had one and having COPD the nurse gave me one without a murmur.

Heather on the other hand remarked to the nurse that she was taking medication for a UTI and asked if that would keep her from getting a flu shot. Nurse stuck a thermometer in her mouth and told her that her temperature was 99 point something and refused to give her a shot. (on into the coming week when her temperature is normal she will go to the clinic to get her shots).

Last night I went on a twelve hour fast, nothing by mouth. No - thing - - - - -. So as we hit the flu shot line early it was after that we went over to the clinic and I had my blood drawn as per instructions. Thyroid level I think it is. By the time we got out of the clinic it was near noon. Heather and I then made a bee line to Burger King which was about the nearest from where we were. A big OJ, a big coffee, a Croissantwich and some potato ?crispies? settled my ravenous hunger and thirst.

Being in line for a flu shot before eight AM was cruel and unusual punishment for me as I might be struggling for consciousness by eight in the morning but do a lot of limbering exercise - gently of course - in order to arise in a comfortable, semi-cheerful mood, then, naturally it takes a hot brown transfusion of caffeine and morning pills.

When we got home we plopped in our easy chairs and soon dozed off. About a half hour of that we stirred, decided that our meal had settled and took a nap.

We got up and went to our park, to our favorite bench, sat and watched the trees change color, drop leaves and watched the squirrels do squirrely things. After a bit I spied a bench over by the playground that was in the shade so Heather and I spent some quality time in a cooler spot. It was in the low eighties today I think and sitting in the sun wasn't for us.

Later we headed home, put some potatoes in to bake, warmed up the meat loaf and dug out the salad we had yesterday and had a pleasant time partaking of the bounty of the land.

I am so far behind on journal reading, e-mail answering and other net things that it is unbelievable. I'm spending much more time doing things with and for Heather now. I guess that because her gall bladder was only running on one cylinder that it probably affected her liver too. She is recovering but a lot slower than she wishes or expects. And, her UTI saps her energy too. But between the two of us we get the needful things done in a timely manner.

Almost as if we were preparing for winter hibernation things are moving slowly now. Yet, there is joy in our hearts and the appreciation of the vegetative changes evident in the foliage. So, really, it is Fall - - - After All . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008