Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 22, 2003 - 17:54 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Stereotype

Saw a thing on the web, "Picking favorite sections of the news paper," the other day. Interesting, it didn't even mention news. I did notice, after I made my posting to it that the comics section was almost the favorite, sports and entertainment were up there too.

I love the cartoonists look at life, they have a good eye for the realities I think.

They will often depict an old man with his belt line just under his chin. I've been looking around as well as in the mirror and by golly it is pretty accurate for many of us. I find that my beard keeps getting snagged in my belt buckle. I guess that eventually the only thing that will keep me from being belt strangled are my armpits.

Do I have a waist anymore ? I guess so, its in there amongst the creases somewhere, not recognizable as such per se. And then there is the "retro" forehead, ears loaded with tufted hair. Wish I could transplant unwanted hair to the top of my head.

And then, in the morning when I am at my worst I am confronted by the mirror showing this old geezer who has a faint resemblance to my Dad. Shock to the system, that is, when I am still just a little kid hunting the bathroom.

Old and ugly synonymous ? I don't think so, some old people, the women beautiful, the men handsome -- they are objects of my wistful envy.

Guess that leaves me, a tintype of a Stereotype . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008