Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 23, 2003 - 18:43 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Travesty

Being an un-rehabilitated ignoramus I guess maybe my opinion will be worth as much as some of the mis-guided egghead's ideas. We can't all be right nor can we all be wrong. Even a blind sow finds and acorn now and then as the oldsters quote.

That being said, I will expose my ignorance. As I grew up there was much discussion in the papers about the war debts the European countries owed. If correct, Germany was in for a heck of a bunch. Seems that only one country ever made their payments on time. Finland, was it ?

Even at that young age I could not envision a system that would impose war debts - victor on top of loser. Didn't make sense then and makes less to me now.

Still that ugly beast has reared its drooling visage once again.

My feeling is that no one has ever won a war -- there have been one or more victors -- but in the end everyone loses. Something, men, materiel, money, natural resources and for the sorely defeated the loss of hope which grinds unbearably. I'm no expert but have the feeling that if Germany hadn't been saddled with so much debt - reparations or whatever one chooses to call it, Hitler would never have stood a chance of becoming dictator.

The Allies (what we called ourselves) seemed to take a better shot after World War 2 and a democracy or two resulted from our aid. But in Iraq or most any of those other Middle Eastern countries where so much division and discord among the people exists I can't see where any amount of tax money poured in will result in peace and democracy.

Operation Iraqi Freedom was an attractive catchword type slogan, but will Iraq ever be free of dissent and discord ?

I do also wonder just how much profit will a few of our US giant corporations realize in the re-building of Iraq ?

And how on earth will any of the war torn countries (Afghanistan and Iraq now) be able to pay off a debt and feed and clothe themselves ? War makes no real sense to me and how the situation is subject to so much mis-handling along the way leads me to doubt if real peace will ever be existent in the Mid-East.

Basically this clod-hopper thinks that the whole thing is becoming a Travesty . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008