Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 24, 2003 - 21:14 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

It Is Here

Seasonal change is upon us and as usual I go a bit dotty over it.

I had to go on an errand this morning and on stepping out on our patio I noted that the coolth, Gadzooks, was upon us. So I put on my warm, snuggly jacket and long pants to protect my delicate shanks and ventured forth. Somewhat happy that the heat had beat the retreat for the nonce, I did my errand in comfort.

There seems to be a brightness come over days this time of year, as if suddenly everything comes into focus, brilliantly.

I remember then when walking home from school or on a Saturday hearing the Thoomp of a punted football somewhere near by in our neighborood. We lived near Denver University stadium and could hear the cheers from there during the games when the wind was in the right direction, knowing the teams were giving their all for the halls of Alma Mater.

A dreaded activity and yet a joyful one too was a homeowner and helpers raking the leaves into a big pile and sometimes a benign Dad letting us have a jump or two into the pile before his final rake-up and applying the match to the Fall incense. The smell of burning leaves wafted to and fro through the neighborhood until the first snow fall usually.

The sound of wood chopping was a frequent harmony to life as it was then. The smell of woodsmoke from the fireplaces and stoves became pronounced once again, mixed in with the odor of coal smoke.

Walks in the park were pleasant then. Dry leaves on the ground rustling underfoot while the scenery of technicolor leaves invaded our senses - what beauty it was.

Later, when all the leaves were down and maybe the snow had visited, a walk through the park reminded me of the mortality of humans. The Dry, dull, bare skeletons of trees, clawing at the skies were a gruesome reminder to me then. You know the old song, "The worms crawl in, the worms crawl out - - - - - -" Of course the sprawly skeletons, airborne witches, black cats and sheeted ghosts in store windows sort of egged that feeling on also, the appearance of Halloween candy in the stores didn't allay the feeling I had either. I would hurry home from school, crank up the fire and do my housework and my bit of supper preparation with the radio going full blast and cozy up to the feeling of being safe once again at home.

The Fall y'all, It Is Here . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008