Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 31, 2003 - 21:26 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Miserably Thankful

Thirty first of October on a Friday means that my pension came in today as my due date for it is the first of the month which is a day the banks are closed, or at least the book keeping is non-functional. So for my pension to show up on the books or at least credited to my checking it was today. Or whatever.

Yesterday was dismally drizzly and cold. Today was the same only colder. The moisture struck the windshield as drops but I noticed the eaves here and there with hanging icicles.

So we pushed our first of the month tank into grumbling operation and started our errands, lumbering along at a snail's pace. The heater in the car worked okay but there were the consequent times between car and businesses that chilled my heels and parts above.

'S life, ya know ? Grit yer teeth, grin and bear it and all that. But I'm retired and I do'wanna, yeah riiiight ?

So we pouted our way along and finally got the job done we set out to do. Arrived home to a nice warm apartment in our dry condition. Heaved a sigh of relief too. So much for the "Miserably"

The flip side is that the Colorado fires are out, kaput. The ground in our state is getting a nice drink the way ground should receive it, slow, gentle and steady. Appears that it might last a day or two also, which is a plus. As a native of an arid state, thankfulness for moisture is ingrained in me. Moisture at this time I give thanks for, no doubt. But, guess I have the right to do my depressive SAD bit along with it and hate the gloom, cold and rain all in one big bag.

Short entry tonight and then I will sack out under warm comfy covers and hopefully dream that it is once again that beautiful spring that makes me an awestruck ten year old once again. Here I am, Miserably Thankful . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008