Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 28, 2003 - 00:03 PST

THE WONDERING JEW

Stuffed Lazy

Everyody was up early today to do various things connected with Thanksgiving dinner here. Now and then along the line there were little tasks I could handle and feel that I was a little help after all. Everybody was home and at peace, even the siblings seemed to be on their best behavior without anyone backing them into a corner and putting out with the threats. The sibs vie with each other over things and status, I guess that is normal. I remember my cousin who is the same age as I am, most of the time, who has three sisters two who are older and one a year younger. He was totally outnumbered and it rankled. But it was a wonderful day inside and no one really ventured out, there was too much of interest to do here at home.

Other than family there was a guest at dinner, a retired professor from the university where my son-in-law is a professor. Every Thanksgiving he is picked up, brought here, watches football with us and has dinner. I am out of my class with an academic on each side of me, but what I lack in intelligence, I live by the motto, "If I can't best them with brilliance, I baffle them with BS," some interesting conversations ensue. Even Cyrano was a gentleman of the old school and slowly became acquainted with the guest and accepted a pat or two.

Heather, our daughter and her daughter will be leaving here at 5:30 AM to live up to the tradition of Door Busting at the local marts, malls and all the day After Thanksgiving. I told Bonnie that I don't know what Heather can buy that we can carry home, knowing we have a place to put it when we get home. I'll find out the score later in the day when they get home.

The man of the house asked the blessing, then we started passing the platters. It was a wonderful dinner, huge turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, oodles of gravy, mixed green beans and broccoli rosettes, hot rolls and as a special treat the ladies made a huge bowl of cranberry salad. Remarkably every one took generous helpings and some came back for seconds, a rare thing in my experience. Usually I am the only one enthusiastic about it. Luckily there will be plenty for me to snack on for the length of our stay.

Afterwards every one hit the couch and easy chairs and we watched a DVD, "Finding Nemo" the first time for me but everyone else had seen it at least once. I got the idea of the story line from the visuals and enjoyed it, one of the few movies I have watched that didn't leave me in the dark as to plot.

After the movie and general conversation pumpkin and cherry pie was served with coffee or tea, there was plenty of Cool-whip to slather whatever was in front of us. This time as a matter of minding my manners, I didn't put any on my hair and beard, no preview of Santa Claus at this location - - - - this time.

After the guest went home I sat down to work a cross word puzzle, had a bit of trouble though, my forehead kept hitting the desk. I snuck off and had a nap, a big one too. I tried to restrain myself and not overeat, so I didn't have a traditional Thanksgiving dinner heart attack. I imagine some pounds have been added to this already overstuffed carcass. Gotta watch it as Christmas is coming soon. Think I will eat a late, late breakfast before dinner so that I can have a bit of everything and stifle my appetite a bit. What great time we had. Everybody went to bed early, except me and here I sit half awake and Stuffed Lazy . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008