Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 06, 2003 - 23:23 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Power

One thing I like about our morning paper is that there is a thought for the day. Interesting stuff causing me to think a bit and realize there is something affirmative to what is quoted.

By Paul Tillich, American Theologian. "All forms of totalitarianism try to a avoid the strange, the problematic, the critical, the rational. To do so, they must deny the metropolitan spirit, equalize everything in city and country, and retain a center which is not the center of anything because everything else is swallowed up by it."

Anonymous. "There are things that are known and things that are unknown; in between are doors."

Sometimes humorous -- Clarence Darrow. "The first half of our lives is ruined by our parents and the second half by our childen."

Sometimes, with a very few words we are urged to live, really live to the utmost. G.K. Chesterton. "The world will never starve for wonders; but only for want of wonder."

Sometimes oh, thoughts so very deep. Elie Wiesel. "The opposite of love is not hate, its indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, its indifference. And the opposite of faith is not heresy, its indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, its indifference."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I remember when I was a kid, my grandmother had a bible that had the words of Jesus in red print. As I grew I began to realise that it did not take fancy language to teach me how to be. Those words in red told me what I really needed to shore me up. Those simple words, in simple language had wonderful Power . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008