Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 08, 2003 - 18:21 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Lower Lip

Jeepers, I'm tired of two steps forward, one step back stuff. When I get well I want to be well. I don't ever want to be sick. But this halfway stuff is a pain. Got up at a decent hour today and now am fading like a summer rose early in the evening.

Guess it is age related weakness or some such. Whatever it is, 'tis no fun. Seems like it takes so little to bring me down and such work to come back up again. Also seems that this one never quite seems to come back up to original vigor.

Looked at the editorial page in our paper today and saw an article by Robyn Blumner of The St. Petersburg Times "Another 9-11 could spell end of liberty, Constitution."

She makes some good points, "Consider how far down this road we've already moved; 'The passage of the USA Patriot Act has given the government extraordinary powers to spy on Americans without cause. The FBI has been unleashed to surveil Americans engaged in anti-war protests. Immigrants have been secretly detained and deported by the hundreds." She goes on further, "In essence, the administration is asserting that the kinds of emergency powers that might flow to the military on the battlefield should be available in the war on terrorism'"

Then she brings up something to think about, "Despotism thrives on insecurity. Abraham Maslow's hierarchy of needs puts safety right behind food, water and sleep. Humans naturally crave stability and are willing to sacrifice values such as liberty in its pursuit."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I don't know what would happen if another 9-11 type of thing would happen here. The first one certainly produced enough paranoia (pushed by politicians) to bring in restrictive laws. What would another one do ? And exactly what has the reorganization of government bureaus including birthing "Homeland Security" accomplished ? Other than remove many government workers out from under the protection of civil service and wage hour restrictions ? The first 9-11 produced such things as the "Homeland Security" Juggernaut ! What will the next monstrosity be ?

So for right now please don't make any waves I'm in up to my Lower Lip . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008