Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 12, 2003 - 12:16 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Remarkable

One of the things that highlighted our stay with daughter for Thanksgiving was the delightful presence of Sir Cyrano de Bergerac-bark-bark. Heather and I got the equivalent of an open arms welcome from him which surprised me greatly. I felt that probably a time of re-acquaintance would be needed, not so though.

He has been well trained to stay in his cage for the night, a nice arrangement with a comfy pad and an open door which he goes to when the family beds down. Such a nice gentleman he is.

One thing though, when he wakes up, everyone has to wake up. He hops up on the bed and wiggles and jiggles and snuffles around until whatever sleepy head is trying to remain so gives it up and gets up.

He chooses his playmate and playtime and chooses the length of same. He has a small stuffed orangutan that he will bring and show he wants to play. If he lays it down he wants to run for it. If not then it is a mini-struggle first off. He is very playful with it and loves to tug and growl and shake it back and forth, eventually however he gives one the chance to get it from him and toss it again.

There are times during the day that he will snuggle with one or another of us. Daughter is the Alpha female of the house of course and he is hers for the most part when it comes to snuggling. But he will spend snuggle time with all of us impartially, as long as we understand that daughter is prime.

While I was sick just before time to come home a lot of my time was spent in bed. I usually lie on one side or the other with my legs bent a bit. Often when I would come awake it would be to the feel of Sir Cyrano laying in the crook of my knees. If I moved around a bit to change position he would go full alert to see what was next. During that time he stayed closer to me than usual, laying at my feet at table or in my lap on the couch. It truly amazed me, he seems more thoughtful and caring than many human beings are.

As well as enjoying family times, Sir Cyrano was part of the family and we felt accepted.

I would get tickled at him, that mini-Poodle. He would come totally unglued at the sight of a deer outside the window and had to be restrained if we were outdoors when one came nearby. The thought of a deer making hamburger out of him chilled my very soul. I wasn't too sure that he wouldn't go right up to the deer ready to do battle. I hope no one ever has the chance to see him challenge a deer up close.

It is a strange thing here at home. Still recovering yet, I miss that gallant, loving, lovable guy. He is one who is more people than some people without the cruelty and snide side that some have.

In such a short time he has found a niche in my psyche that is his own. Remarkable . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008