Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-01 - 1800 MDT

June 1, 2000

Opinion +/-

There is a man here in Denver who writes a column in our paper, one who is about my age and being raised here as I was, it is almost like we are old school chums. Most of the time I agree with him, and some of the time there is no need to attach any importance to his idiosyncracies, just, ho hum and move on. Occasionally I do disagree with him, as I did on reading his column today.

The question he asks and tries to answer is, "Is impulse to speed learned from TV commercials ?" He seems to think that it is a fact, the question should be answered in the affirmative.

I can only dispute that from a male point of view, and an opinionated mind. It seems to me that everything bad and wrong in these days is blamed on TV. It is to me rather like a blanket cop out, head in the sand sort of thing.

To go along with some of my previous rants and comments, that point of view is nonsense. There is nothing wilder, bloodier, riskier, or far out as the high speed of a boy's imaginative mind, later only toned down a bit by adulthood.

The desire for high speed is inborn I think, the urge to make my tricycle go faster than a playmates, the urge to run faster, later the urge to make myself the winner in any bicycle contest amongst us kids, and when a car comes into our possession, the first question is, "How fast will it go ?" We let speed run wild I think now days on the Interstates causing racing, cutting off, bad manners and the extreme, ROAD RAGE.

I don't think speed per se is the cause of all this trouble but the "Me First" attitude of a good part of our citizenry, the elbow aside actions.

I have while in traffic watched the weavers and switchers who can't stand to see an opening in the other lane and not slide in there. By the time I hit my destination the weaving switcher is just about beside me. It seems to be an obvious fact that no one can go faster than the flow of traffic no matter how many people are cut off in the attempt to gain a car length. It also seems to me that when faced with a long stretch of highway with little or no traffic near that it is human nature to go much faster than the speed limit. I guess that even Montana has set a max speed limit on the highway, it used to reasonable and proper or some such words. Even now in many western states between you and the horizon there is nothing but miles and miles of empty highway. I have mentioned that some higway engineers some time ago came up with the "Yield" signs which helped a commuter move a bit faster, avoided "come completely to a full stop" hindrance and eased the situation overall. One thing that I have not seen mentioned is that that the or those engineers gave credit to the motorist for having brains, remarkable really. It allways seemed to me to be ridiculous to come to an intersection where the vision is unhampered and no traffic in sight to come to a full stop, even if crossing the intersection. Common sense says that if there is nothing there, there is no need to stop. Many laws are in effect because of what some feeble minded driver or citizen might do.

Well Bastion, after that tirade, what are your pearls of wisdom ? That many times opinions are offered on things not subject to being verified, and they do vary greatly. Also, getting mad in the face, yelling and waving your arms usually has the reverse effect than the desired one. That is my opinion, what is yours ?

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008