Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 24, 2003 - 22:39 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Memories Again

Heather and I had a very busy day today. Youngest son came over for dinner a bit earlier than expected so it was a hurry up rush and a bit late to the table, but it was enjoyed. Rummy was played by our individual house rules which happened to agree.

Talk at the table centered on memories. Son telling us how he remembers how "Old" Denver used to be for him. He was born in 1951. Yet there have been changes galore even since then, but before 1951 the changes were gigantic. The talk got around to Gene Amole a Rocky Mountain News columnist who was about the same age as I and would put memories of old Denver in his column now and then, son used to read him.

Son is gone now and Heather and I will quietly visit, after I get through here, for the rest of the evening.

Some how there is a glow behind me seeming to reflect on the walls, a very comforting sort of thing. And my memories are doing a sort of fast forward from my earliest memories on up to date. Silly old man I know. But it gives me pleasure.

I was just thinking that in a way something is not reality until it shows up in a comic strip. A short three panel strip today, "Grand Avenue," Had this girl with glasses telling P.J.," P.J., its time I told you the truth about Santa Claus." P.J. says, "What ?"Next panel she says, "There's no such thing as a workshop up in the North Pole where elves make toys. The last panel the girl says, "There used to be, but those jobs were outsourced to China." A "Gasp" from P.J.

I can laugh at the damndest things. But by golly I can still laugh.

Mind floating now back to the old comics I remember. "Out Our Way," "The Katzenjammer Kids," Way back I can remember "Happy Hooligan," "Moon Mullins," "Bringing Up Father," "Gasoline Alley the one with Skeezix," "Harold Teen, does Covina High ring anybodies bell ? "Tillie The Toiler, "Mutt and Jeff," and dearly beloved "Casper Milquetoast," the epitome of hen peckery, "Boots And Her Buddies," and more that I can't just put a name on right now.

Then I realize it is time to be with Milady Heather. So I go, having wandered a bit through Memories Again . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008