Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 28, 2003 - 19:46 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Puzzled

We attended our middle daughter's birthday celebration a day or so ago and as well as good food there was equally good conversation and teasing. Put me in a thoughtful mood today.

Next up is a joint celebration of Heather's birthday and the son of middle daughter who was born on the same day.

Middle daughter went overdue and stayed that way longer than we thought she should and managed to have him on her Mom's birthday. I swear that she held off, gritting her teeth, just to give her Mom that little extra thrill. Didn't surprise me a bit. It was just like her, such a thoughtful, kind and loving person she is, that delaying birth was a piece of cake to her.

Of course giving birth to such a large baby did have its consequences, some reconstruction was entailed and the eventual dissipation of the blood in her eyeball caused by her straining during birth.

That type of birthday celebration doesn't happen very often I think. We spent most of the day with her and into the hospital to wait in the waiting room for her to deliver. Heather was the typical Mother I think, on pins and needles busy worrying and going through the list of, "What ifs."

Such a happy and proud lady our daughter was when she came out of recovery room and said, "Happy birthday Mom."

He just recently celebrated his 32nd birthday -- daughter just celebrated her 54th. Eventually things settled down and as it was late at night by then everyone went home. Heather and I on the proverbial cloud 9, happy that daughter was okay and that Grandma was presented with a grandson on her birthday.

There are pleasant memories of the birth of all our grandchildren of course, but the memory of Grandma's birthday present stands out.

Most all of our grandchildren are adults with children of their own now, with the exception of the grandson who just recently celebrated his 14th and his sister a year or two behind. But I'm sure they will make it too, hope I am still around for that !

How middle daughter was able to put off a birth so long still has me Puzzled . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008