Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 31, 2003 - 17:45 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Idle Talk

Ashleigh Brilliant in Pot Shots today says, "Why should majorities rule, when they are so often wrong ?" I guess the main answer is that otherwise we would have people like Saddam or others of his ilk holding us under his thumb. I think maybe the majority would have a better chance to do it right if we all didn't have so much misinformation shoved in our ears and minds from all sides.

So, what did you do in 2003 ? Not much compared to a 30 year old man I guess. But we kept breathing, one of the main requirements of life. We had various ailments which were brought more of less under control, Heather suffering the most severe of them. We are both still navigating alright. Sometimes I get somewhere and wonder why I came there in the first place. Senile dementia ? Alzheimer's ? Neither really, I did that as a kid and I stoo dill.

We had great family fun and bid goodbye to two of our family who had lived their lives.

We didn't do anything earthshaking but managed to live pleasantly for the most part. One of my greatest pleasures is cyber talking with many of my friends on the net. Reading their journals and communicating also is a great help to me. Deafness precludes normal group visiting. Therefore I enjoy communicating where sound doesn't interfere and clash. Normal sound becomes cacophony as some frequencies are not within my capability of hearing and with my hearing aid, sound billows in from all directions, at the same level. Heather and I have no problem really, except for the times she says, "You old fool can't you hear the phone ringing ?" Mea culpa . . . . .

I follow the news but don't let it follow me, griping along the way and filing it. With our family the size it is there is at least one birthday every month, duly celebrated and appreciated. Great grandchildren are showing up fairly often. Wondering if it will be possible for Heather and I to cuddle great greats someday ? Relatives of all ages for me to play with. The gamut, from rolling a ball back and forth to cars and Legos to board games and just one on one visiting.

In April will be my 83rd birthday and I happily look back at the miracles that kept me alive this long.

I went to a show with Heather today to keep her company. "Lost In Translation," it was, with Bill Murray and a gal with inflated lips. For me it was truly lost in translation, I could hear not one word of it but appreciated the views of Tokyo and sighted a view of Mount Fuji briefly. But Heather enjoyed it and that was the purpose of going to the show.

I do hope everyone has a super happy New Year with better ones to come each year. It is so very great to have friends who read my Idle Talk . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008