Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 08, 2004 - 21:45 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Fairy Tale

Feel a bit better today. Guess the old saying that sleep heals might have something to it.

Now for my opinion --

My mind is still trying to cope with what our Pres. is trying for -- other than Hispanic vote political advantage (he hopes).

One laugh, at least to me it is, that "Employer must show no Americans wanted the job." From my earliest memories the old song that Americans won't do stoop labor has been ricocheting in my skull piece. It will be so easy for corporate and government or commercial entities to show that no American wants the job -- all they have to do is say what wages they will pay for the job. Bingo, no American will work for the wages that the employers want to pay, just as it has been from my earliest memories.

One thing I do hope is that Congress as a whole is not buffaloed by Bush or bushaloed by Buff into going along with his ridiculous plans. Apparently he did not go into detail, just advanced an ethereal, tenuous plan of an open door to the south and beaucoup privileges.

One thing I am getting extremely tired of is the phrase "undocumented worker." A better term would be, I think, "illegal alien worker."

I think that at the present time we have many citizens by birth whose parents are illegal alien residents. Seems to me the whole shebang needs a clean-up rather than the pie in the sky blather that is floating around at this time.

It is also my feeling that after election if not before, things will go back to business as usual with illegal aliens working here and sending their money home. Our migrant workers still living in pig sty camps with out pure running water or sanitary facilities like it always has been and illegal alien workers living in conditions not much better in the cities.

I do highly object to granting Social Security status to illegal alien workers. I also object to giving illegal aliens drivers licenses.

Seems to me that the greater inflow of illegal immigrants the lower the wages will be here overall. Working conditions and safety control will probably decay. As well, I'm thinking about this overtime bit that is in the mill. Looks as if we citizens will eventually be citizens by condescension. Minimum wages being lowered by government decision is probably next.

I think also that we have a huge amount of our people who are and have been in poverty and want for years not because of their inclination but have fallen through the cracks and left to rot. Shouldn't we take care of them first ?

Gather round folks and listen to Mr. Bush's next Fairy Tale . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008