Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 18, 2004 - 21:34 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Playin' Hookey

I have e-mail to answer and journals and diarys to read. Yet I have spent this afternoon and evening becoming acquainted with a man of the West. Don't know if he was born there or made it his by preference.

His pictures are of the best and his writing is tops as far as I am concerned.

I liked his narrative of a visit to Carlsbad Caverns once, a two part entry but well worth reading. I have been there twice, once as a pre-teen boy and next with our youngest daughter in her teens as an old Mother. Ooooops, old Father that should have read.

Through his entries and my memory I once again made the trek to the pure west.

He lives, I think, in a manner that would be super suitable to me in a place I would like to inhabit. At my age there is no way I could be as active and outdoorsy as he is, but it would sure be nice to be a place where it would be possible to look out the window at the mountains with nothing but open land between me and their beauty. To see animals in their habitat, birds doing their things and the flora doing what comes naturally. I would like to breathe the air he does rather than inhale Denver emissions, which stretch north and south (depending on the wind) for a long way and is even getting into the foothills.

His diary is at Grousin' in the Sage

Check him out, personally the smell of sage on a hot day fills my nostrils as well as does the pine scent in the mountains perfume my memories when I read him.

I am like Red Skelton and his "Mean Little Kid" "If I do it I'm gonna get a whippin', I'm gonna do it anyway !" Should I feel guilty ? Hell no, I had too much fun this afternoon and evening Playin' Hookey . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008