Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-05 - 10:00 MDT

June 5, 2000

Politics

I see our governor vetoed a bill which would have given autistic children early therapy.

Politics, hah. Reminds me of the TV commercial that ran for so long, can't remember what it was for, oil filters maybe ? Punch line was, "You can pay me now or you can pay me later. The end result of that being that the "later" would cost a hell of a lot more.

So this veto will cost the taxpayer a "hell" of a lot more in the end. Early therapy for toddlers seems to me to be a very humane and cost effective way to handle the situation, rather than wait until they are older and more set in their autism. To my way of thinking, the Gov. just might have suggested to the legislators that the bill rather than using medicare/medicaid funds should maybe be aimed at using some other source to pay for that.

How about all this hoopla about the state having a surplus ? Seems to me that some of that vaunted surplus could be used to very great advantage for things like that. How about the funds from our state lottery ? Or would that make too much sense ?

In the AWAD (A Word A Day) was the word "Kakistocracy" and the definition is, "Government by the least qualified or most unprincipled citizens." Katistocratic government has been with us for longer than I can really figure out. On which horn of those words, "Least qualified", "Unprincipled," these people are hung.............maybe some of them are hung on both, percentages up for debate.

Ah well, this time next year, Huh ?

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008