Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 30, 2004 - 18:07 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

If ?

The world is full of ifs, also ands and buts. But it is the ifs that twirl one's memory. If I had done so and so, now I would probably Mr. Big. But in between the ifs are the buts, you know, which really change the whole picture.

Even so it is Friday and time for the Friday Five

1. - You have just won one million dollars, who do you call first ?

A. - Depends on whether it is cash in hand. If so maybe I'd call Brinks to take me to the bank. Once safe and at our disposal I'd call my wife Heather.

2. - What is the first thing you would buy for yourself ?

A big state-of-the-art computer and a patient teacher to lead me into learning what I would need to know to use it effectively and to its full extent.

3. - What is the first thing you would buy someone else ?

A. - Great, easy there. It would be for Heather mostly but I would have to be appended to make it satisfactory with her. I would make arrangements to go and take our furniture and possessions into an assisted care residence. I remember one I used to deliver flowers to. It has two stories, the upper story has apartments for the independent ambulatory folks and took care of those who needed help on the ground floor. We would be able to take meals there or go out to eat, run around at our pleasure enjoying life.

Do you give any away ? If yes, to whom ?

A. - First would be things to our children to make them secure. Two need a fully owned house, the rest of them need help in one way or another. Perhaps the overage would be to take care of the education of any of our grandchildren or greats that wanted it. I was raised to believe that, "Charity begins at home but would hope to help the helpless too ." 'Spect the million would be long gone by now.

5. - Do you invest any ? If so how ?

A. - I think my answer to number 4 would take care of any investment a going on 83 year old man would be able to afford, if that.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It is so easy to sit back in my easy chair and consider the, "What Ifs," but when it comes to actuality, circumstances might alter decisions. Depends on the need when the benison should befall us. I can only pray that if such a thing ever happens we use it wisely.

Come on Lottery make us millionaires. I often wonder in my woolgathering, what If ? . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008