Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 04, 2004 - 20:53 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

A Fugue

It was a funny day today, not ha,ha but funny peculiar. Ground covered in a light blanket of snow, cold out.

Being Sunday Heather and I didn't have to go out. So we should have done needed things or something, anything around here. I guess Heather spent her day putting photos in albums trying to catch up, at least that's what I saw when I wandered into the front room now and then.

No company or phone calls or interruptions of any kind. I should have been catching up on e-mail, reading journals and so forth. If asked what I was doing my probable answer would have been, "meditating," which would have been as close as I could come.

But my empty head only echoed outside noises and quietly I sat the day away. Eating meals didn't seem to break things up enough that I was spurred to do anything other than resume what I had been doing before the meal was served.

Although I am not suffering from a mental ailment, psychiatry has a word for it. It is, "A state of psychological amnesia during which the subject seems to behave in a conscious and rational way, although on return to normal consciousness he cannot remember the period of time nor what he did during it; temporary flight from reality." I'll have to remember that the next time I need an excuse, I'll just say, "Oh, I must have been in A Fugue" . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008