Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 07, 2004 - 19:06 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Skewed

Simmering here, Colorado University and its current scandal. Rape at sports recruiting parties and booze to boot, with possible dope included.

I have no real idea if this is an isolated instance, but highly doubt that. Coupled with the scandal at the Air Force Academy rape charges, it seems that some of our young males are given the go-ahead to do as they please.

Denver Square, a comic strip by Ed Stein has CU pegged about right. Three panels, featuring the man and wife often shown.

First panel, wife says, "Sam, is it possible that the University of Colorado's Football recruiting program included organizing drinking and sex parties ? Hubby replies, "Oh, come on Liz."

Next panel Hubby says, "I find it hard to believe that officials at our flagship university could have been involved in all that,"

Last panel, Hubby continues, "When they were so busy looking the other way !"

To my mind it seems that the "good old boy" network" applies to university football recruiting progams too. I suppose that it exists as competition to football recruiting programs in other universities and colleges. Seems logical. Only thing they seem to come up with is to offer more booze, more girls and even more dope to gain star athletes.

Maybe what little Sunday School teaching was given me combined with my poring over the Boy Scout Handbook and things told to us in school, Good Sportmanship ruled according to the powers that be, and I think it should.

Using the type of recruiting that seems to be in use nowadays, what will their teams consist of ? Booze and drug crazy sex maniacs ? Maybe one or more of the same with a new twist perhaps ? If athletes are brought in that way, how can anyone try to ignore the sleazy way some collegian/university athletes act ?

Enough of a black eye with the dope and booze. Why are women plied with alcohol and dope brought into the picture ? I would think those in the program who participated could be charged with procuring and pimping, no ?

Oh, I know the usual defense, "This was not ordered by the institution and didn't happen on the institution's grounds, therefore we are clean in this situation." Yeah, riiiight !

First thing you know those athletes will be acting like members of congress or CEO's of corporations. Life seems to be a bit Skewed . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008