Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 02, 2004 - 20:23 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Her-redity

Genes, traits, characteristics. What ever I was dealt is what I use. We were with cousins of mine today, a lady on a visit here in Denver. I worshipped her from afar, knowing that this young squirt was much to young for her. We met at her brother's place near where we live and had lunch there. We visited and played catch up on each other's lives. Finally we took her to her daughter's house across town.

Always soft spoken, the soul of courtesy and family love. She is eighty-five. My oldest cousin just passed ninety a few months ago.

The youngest of that family is a year younger than me. Plagued with rheumatoid arthritis and osteoporosis, she will be going into surgery in a week or so to have two more vertebrae fused. A character and personality much like her sisters. My male cousin, who lives near us is an ex-smoker who is on oxygen like I am. He also has the gentleness of the family too. He is almost a year older than I am.

They, like us, are using what they were born with and are doing somewhat better than can be expected of old folks.

One of our nameless grandchildren who being a victim of allergies once said that Heather and I gave him bad genes. We gave what we had, what more could we do ? He seemed to think the blame was all on our side of the family without considering some of the allergies the folks on the other side have.

He grew up, then married and they have a baby now. So, he did grow up and is making use of the genes he was born with, which is all any of us can do. He is a pretty nice guy now.

In a way I feel that tendencies to ail with certain things are passed on, but there is no hard and fast map of a person's life time -- that is by mortal means. Scientists are digging deeply into he mysteries of genes, maybe they can come up with a magic bullet that will solve those problems that arise in the human race.

I also feel sure that there will be red-in-the face, shouting people screaming against what ever new thing comes up.

I remember Mama and I think she passed to me Her-redity . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008