Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 03, 2004 - 18:37 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

That I Am

Molly South quoted Einstein today. "The wireless telegraph is not difficult to understand. The ordinary telegraph is like a very long cat. You pull the tail in New York and it meows in Los Angeles. The wireless is the same, only without the cat."

Metaphorical teaching has a great place in our growing up lives and to some of us even in our adult lives it has its place.

Afterwards as my mind grew and a slight store of knowledge began to accumulate this person began to wonder, Why ? How ? By what means ? Who thought of that ? As I reached each point I was then able to understand the answers or was able to ask for more explanation.

Then there are questions that are up in the air as it were. For instance why did I leave my notes for tonight's entry in the glove compartment ? About the only answer is perhaps that I am a forgetful fool.

Some answers are only partially answered by my faith. I think as much as I can understand, the answers are given me.

Then too, answers that were good and valid back then change into something diametrically opposite now, often leaving me to wonder why. Sure "Circumstances alter cases." Which brings more questions to my mind. When it comes to politicians and economists, when I finally understand exactly what they meant by what they said (no mean feat, that) and somewhat fear what direction they are trying to head us, it is too late, usually much too late.

Then come the questions I think most of us ask ourselves, "What is it all about ? Why ? Actually what am I ? Who am I ? What lifetime decisions are wise for me to make ? Am I too late ? Some of these can be answered by my faith, at least partially so. I think my faith gives me answers I can understand and the full explanation will only be given me when finally in the far future I can comprehend them.

Sometimes things like, "Why'd he do that ? What caused the change ? What was he/she thinking ? It appears that some folks have little common sense, but yet I often wonder, do I ? Its hard, looking back in time to figure out what on earth possessed me to do some of the things I did. Forgetfulness draws a merciful curtain over past events.

Maybe what I need is some real high powered metaphors to give me a better understanding of life and people. Until then this Jew is wandering and wondering, That I Am . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008