Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 05, 2004 - 20:46 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

A Bit More

The weekly third degree, in five. It goes like this the Friday Five

What was . . .

1. your first grade teachers name ?

A. Mrs. Gray, a beloved gray haired, plain lady who made us feel loved in school as we had been at home.

2. your favorite Saturday afternoon cartoon ?

A. a long time ago, seems to me that what was showing at the movies on a Saturday afternoon. No TV then. Mostly Popeye and Mickey Mouse I guess.

3. the name of your very first best friend ?

A. Moyer when I was in first grade. Lasted through high school, then we moved - lost contact.

4. your favorite breakfast cereal ?

A. Those big old biscuits of Shredded Wheat with milk and all the sugar Dad would let me put on them.

5. your favorite thing to do after school ?

A. Play with friends and stay out of our empty house 'til chores forced me in to do them before the folks got home from work.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Asbestos, I referred to it recently. Just ran onto a book review in our paper today by Todd Hartman. Title is, "An Air That Kills." By Andrew Schneider and David McCumber. One sentence or so from the review, "Asbestos, contrary to conventional wisdom, has not been banned in America. The cancer-causing mineral is still mined, produced and sold here, and can be found in pipes, construction materials, floor tiles and auto parts, among other places. Imports have actually increased in the past decade."

List price shown as $25.95 and is now on my want list, the next time I go to The Tattered Cover I'll pick it up.

The last paragraph of the column, "Indeed, the heroic actions of several players, paricularly an EPA employee based in Denver, may have been one of the book's take home messages. But taken as a whole, the work is infested with a much bleaker theme, one that suggests how readily America and its government can fall into the stranglehold of industry and its political allies."

Don't need to preach that to this choir here Mr. Hartman, but thanks for the review.

For this Friday it has been five and A Bit More . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008