Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 06, 2004 - 20:04 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

World

When spring finally comes here as it did yesterday where Melissa lives, once again I become an innocent, marveling at God's wonders bursting from the earth, shrubs and trees.

The breeze, humid, gentle, bearing scents of all the above gives spring to my step.

Soon returns the butter fly and the red breasted flyer. It all takes me back to a delightful time of my young life when everything seemed shining new, where doors were not locked and most countryland was not fenced except for sheep and cattle holdings. Picnic spots abounded. At that time of my life summer was too far away to even think about.

In my sheltered soul it is eternally spring, I have been buffeted by the world and have made mistakes enough to tell the difference between here and now and my Spring-land.

Now I can see that same innocent wonder in the faces and eyes of our great-grandkids.

Sadly, whoever dare erase that happiness from a child's personna will pay later, but it will benefit the child naught.

I was given that wonder by the time and teaching my mother lovingly gave me before she returned to work when I went into first grade. She led me to see and appreciate the gifts of the world, how to love, and of course how to behave myself. But the latter yet gives me trouble.

Oh, things have changed so much over the years. So complex and chaotic, like a mechanized Juggernaut, crowded with people so antagonistic that it no longer resembles what once was a child's paradise to me.

Even so, when the breath of Spring caresses my cheek, it is as it once was to me.

I'm a throwback I guess, a Robert Louis Stevenson kid in a Clockwork Orange World . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008