Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-09 - 20:10 MDT

June 9, 2000

B B & B

Short for Bewitched, bothered and bewildered. Which I am, and probably will be forever. Now if I could just get rid of the bothered and bewildered and concentrate on the pleasant bewitched part. It would be fairly easy if the "other shoe dropping" syndrome had a cure."

Any more, even the curmudgeons have become diplomatic. The wonderful people I am rubbing up against recently seem to be fellow lodge members, pledged to the same concept and being serious in the practice to the nth degree. We are not clones, we each have our differences and recreational pleasures, but it seems as if we think very much alike on the main facets of life

It bothers me a bit, how can an ancient man find things to talk about better than reminisce ? But re-runs are not popular especially when presented with the point of view of the author. How could I tell about the Great Depression from any other viewpoint than mine ? The facts and figures have been listed in history and I think the historians pretty well agree on the facts and figures. But how it affected me personally and how I perceive that it affected those around me and our neighbors can only be presented from my viewpoint. It might make a slightly interesting read for a few minutes, then the, "What's next," TV routine takes over.

Current events are good to take a street wise, wry look at. I read in one journal tonight about the stupid things said in the legislature in the state the journalist resides. It was really a belly busting laugh account of actual things said in the heat of obfuscation. I think it happens in all of our states and nations. I think there is a vague possibility that I, myself have created one of those "Hummers" causing me to bow my head in abject apology to the ancient GreeK thinkers. Mea culpa, huh?

Current events, A Rocky Mountain News columnist named Penny Parker mentions a Wyoming reader familiar with Denver who set forth "The Official Rules For Driving In Denver." To wit:

Turn signals will give away your next move. A real Denver driver never uses them.

Never get in the way of a car that needs extensive body work.

Crossing two or more lanes in a single lane change is considered going with the flow.

Never pass on the left when you can pass on the right. It's a good way to scare people entering the highway.

Speed limits are arbitrary figures, given only as suggestions and apparently not enforceable in the Denver area.

Always slow down and take a really good long look when you see an accident or even someone changing a tire.

Seeking eye contact with another driver revokes your right away. NOTE: from a report by Bastion, "The Denver driving code is being rapidly adopted by citizens of other cities," and he says, "Remember, we did it first."

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008