Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 08, 2004 - 17:27 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Used To

Being long accustomed to something doesn't necessarily mean that it will continue as it was indefinitely.

Maybe Heather and I are different, but I doubt it. As kids our families went to our same doctors as we grew up. Her family their doctor, my family to our doctor. Our doctor signed my birth certificate. Then when we got out on our own we picked our doctor, sometimes being lucky. Doctors after a long time seem to become one of the family. Know you maybe better than you do each other.

That's the way it was with Dr. Scott P________. Our first acquaintance with him was when we took our young daughter to the emergency room at University Hospital at the time her toe was crushed in a folding car seat. Dr. Scott was in attendance there and we were so impressed with him at all levels that we wished he could be our doctor.

A few years later when I became eligible to join an HMO we saw his name on the list of Personal Care Physicians. Bingo. For twenty years he was our doctor.

One day we received a letter from the HMO that Dr. Scott would no longer be receiving patients. A period of mourning as of the death of a loved one ensued, along with trying to find another doctor with the same level of all that he was.

We were lucky, the first doctor we picked was a hummer, sharp, knowledgeable, professional and kind to the max. By her sharpness and quick reaction she saved my life, where a more contemplative doctor would have ended up being too late to help much. She was our doctor for a time, but eventually went into private practice.

We were more or less passed on to a doctor she knew, who was competent but was in the wrong iatric field. She was pediatric not geriatric. Rhymed but no match. She tried.

After looking at the list of personal care physicians at our clinic I found our ideal doctor. However they told me that she was taking no new patients. Luckily I was able to get in to see her and pled our case. She took pity and we have been her patients ever since. She knows the ins and outs of geriatric care and is the soul of kindness and courtesy. We were truly in luck. But it is as she told us, "There is no lifetime guarantee on my services." Just hope she outlasts us.

Fast forward a couple of years. The doctor in Mental Health whose patient I was suddenly retired. He was supposed to go on sabbatical and decided to permanently retire. I had been his patient since 1986 or 87. I had no chance to say goodbye to him either. I am so glad that I have reached a stable condition with an occasional medication adjustment under his care. I guess with doctors when they retire a memorial service needs to be held. Somehow, somewhere, it should be -- seems to me.

I saw my new doctor today and feel that he and I shall soon have rapport. But.

It does amaze Heather and I that people far younger than us have the audacity to retire and leave us. (just joking of course). Guess the next doctor I have I will demand a warranty.

As time goes by all things seem to change, but that is not what I am Used To . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008