Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 12, 2004 - 21:24 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Root Cause ?

Any more we seem to be a country at odds with ourselves, sort of in a societal bipolar frenzy. We seem to have mounted our horse and ridden simultaneously in all directions.

Where did all the trouble start ? I guess, to me, it started with us. Those of us who grew up during the depression. I remember hearing a parent about my age say one time, "My kids will not have to suffer the same worries and deprivations that I did in the depression.

And to the limits of our pocketbooks and patience our little royal highnesses suffered not. Not even having the fear of discipline.

Then the children of the children of depression began to come along. They raised theirs along the same lines only more permissibly. But the price grew exponentially. More toys, more amusements, more, more, more and of course better, more costly and status engendering.

So as we degenerate, our educational folks lower the requirements for grades, 'dumbing down' the whole situation of education.

Yet, as an old person there seems to me to be many young folks who have been raised as we were. Respect for elders, helping those who need aid, courtesy. And that seems to come from the most unlikely people.

For example I remember going to our post office door to check our mailbox and seeing a young man poorly dressed with a cast on his leg crutching as fast as he could to open the door for me. I can still open doors, but am grateful to people who have the will to help. Snarl at them and tell them, "I can do it myself, dammit," which I have heard crotchety older people do ? No, I smile and say, "Thank you," with feeling and meaning.

Maybe they will raise their kids to do the same acts of love, care and courtesy as they themselves exemplify.

Thing that worries me is can those type of folks have enough progeny to make that type of behavior dominant in our society ? Or will we be gradually outnumbered ?

The propagation of terrorism has again caused 490 deaths and 1400 injuries in three different trains in Spain. Insane ? Yes, assuredly. How can one group think that they can profit by killing innocent people, old folks, children, disabled and every kind in between who are living peaceful lives and harming no one ? Excuse me, I am going to kill you. Courtesy, or lack therof, from the terrorists. You know, its not personal, its the situation that causes your death.

Looks like it is the same things being done over and over again, with those in power expecting different results than the last crew got.

But I am a know-nothing nobody and a miniscule particle of humanity, but I can still express my opinions. It looks to me as if every country is paranoid about every other country in the world otherwise why not do away with weapons of war - world-wide ? Will cost the manufacturers a bundle, but they can retool and make plowshares once again.

Are Cain and Abel the Root Cause ? . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008