Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 19, 2004 - 16:37 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

IF

There are times I wonder about myself. Times such as these. When I expose my ignorance like this. But I do, herewith is The Friday Five

If You . . . . .

1. - owned a restaurant, what kind of food would you serve ?

A. Home style, generous portions of good vegetables and meats. Prepared in the style liked us blue collar types.

2. - owned a small store, what kind of merchandise would you sell ?

A. - I would love to have a stamp and coin store, with books on the side.

3. - you wrote a book, what genre would it be ?

A. - Science fiction or fantasy.

4. - ran a school, what would you teach ?

A. - an elementary school - all grades, teaching the kids the realities of life, diplomacy, conduct, courtesy, respect and of course the three R's plus.

5. - recorded an album, what kind of music would it be ?

A - Soft, musical background music for poetry reading, myself as the reader of poetry of my choice. Hoping that I would have the talent to write good poetry. Otherwise no album as I can't carry a tune in a washtub vocally or instrumentally.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Or a small hardware store in a neighborhood lacking a big chain hardware store. Might be a go. People most always need hardware.

I saw a good Thought For The Day in our paper this morning: "History is always repeating itself, but each time the price goes up." Anonymous - - - wish I had originated that one.

From the Associated Press March 19th an article, "Skilling's assets to stay frozen."

U.S. District Judge Sim Lake ruled late Thursday in favor of the federal government's request to maintain a freeze on more than 55$ million in cash and property."

Along the way, "Skilling's lawyers argued in court filings that he needs access to his money to meet expenses such as taxes and health insurance and the freeze blocks access to about $3 million in annual income from those assets.

Judge Lake, "ruled in a 21-page opinion that the government can seize assets only upon conviction. But assets subject to possible seizure can be frozen before any conviction "because they are directly traceable to the charged offenses."

My personal opinion is that after all folks who lost their 401 Ks, the folks who lost their jobs, the investors are paid in full, then what is left over might be considered his. But if he gets the jail term I think he deserves, he wont need much money anyhow.

Our world is rife with "ifs" each day I think each of us has to make choices based on one "if" or another. A very confusing thing to live with to say the least -- but our life depends on IF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008