Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 20, 2004 - 22:13 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Making Do

Substitution equals generic living I think.

I used to love to walk, and I think was damn good at it. Both endurance and speed wise. Now we go to the park and after a block of walking I have to rest and then try about another block rest, return by the same method. The park is neat, there are benches clear around that fit my abilities. Many other things I can no longer do, physically or endurance wise. I also find that more rest is required now, which puts a time limit on things.

There are many things we can still do and by golly, do them, enjoying them to the max. So, our time is well filled. Just that I miss some things I used to be able to do.

I have found friends and mentors on the net, found some who accept me as a brother or nephew, from each one I have learned something good.

I am especially attracted to people who are out of doors people, who hike, camp and cope with the vagaries of nature.

One such person is the person who writes a journal called Awakened Treading The Dawn name of Melissa. She is a quite knowledgeable person and works at many different things. She lives near the wilds of the southeast. She is also a great photographer and spends as much time out of doors as she can. She seems to be up for anything I think. One thing she and her husband Morgan do is to spend time helping at a wolf sanctuary. Being close to animals of that size and strength with such rapid reflex time can be so very dangerous. It also requires expertise in diplomacy with animals coupled with love of them. Her archives are so very interesting.

Then there is a man who is writes a diary Grousin' In The Sage He lives and works in the wide open spaces of the west, and I mean wide, wide open. He has much to do with game, presently trying to help determine what is ailing some elk there. He is out in the field most every day, far from human habitation doing things I would be thrilled to do, or help do.

So being tied at home I must live doing all those things vicariously. Sure beats feeling down and moping. I am lucky to be privileged to be reading and communicating with all these people. It's after all a good life and takes just a little Making Do . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008