Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-11 - 12:18 PM MDT

June 11, 2000

Separation

I read about the growing separation of people from each other in the present day society. I also read many various reasons and I think some of them are valid.

In my opinion, one is the fact that with most couples both are working. Their after work time is pretty well used up just surviving without the frills. In time past life moved at a more leisurely pace, the household had one wage earner and the homemaker who did the house work, child care, grocery shopping and meal preparation all by herself giving the family time for socializing and having dinners and card parties.

Then as they all point out, came the boob tube, the VCRs and the rental videos. I think if anything time spent in front of the TV has expanded from what it used to be. Earlier it killed my impulse to socialize with others when I visited them, they had their eye on the TV and could not seem to hold a connected conversation with us. They seemed grateful when we left - - - - - so they could get back to sitting open mouthed in front of an evening of constant commercials, sound bite news, car chases, wrecks, explosions and Gunsmoke, Bonanza and other romaticized Westerns.

Neighbors, when they move in and you meet them the first time names are exchanged and when they move that is the only thing you know about them. Nobody seems to have time to sit on the front porch, sip iced tea and just peacefully talk any more.

I miss it.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008