Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-15 - 09:15 MDT

June 15, 2000

Eden

When I was at the age of the ability to communicate but before I could read and still had that wide eyed innocence and marvel appreciating of a very young boy Dad and Mom gave me a treat, still remembered vividly.

In those trusting days spare tires were often carried on a rack on the back of autos. A good many of them had tire covers which had different things on them usually from a commerical source. I would often ask Mom or Dad to tell me what this, that or the other printed thing said as I did about one particular tire cover, often seen. "See Elitch's and die," after a couple of attempts to reach my tyro understanding Dad gave up, I did recognize that particular phrase though.

One Sunday my Dad said, "Douggie, you've been curious about Elitch's and we are going to take you to Elitch Gardens today, I think you'll like it.

Across town we went and up to this fancy entry gate, inside was a miracle of beautiful, live denizens of the plant world. Trees, bushes, greenery and the most vivid display of flowers I had seen up to that time. I was thinking to myself, "Oh Dad, please let us stay until I have seen all of the gardens." I hardly noticed these various moving things, I could hear music and liked it but my attention was on the green world.

We meandered a bit and pretty soon Dad said, "Do you want to take a ride on this Merry Go Round ?" It was fancier than the ones in the park and moved all by itself, and it had it's own music too. Sure I wanted to go on it. Dad said, "You will have to ride it by yourself, I know you can do it and have fun too." After watching it for several times and seeing that obviously the kids riding it were having fun I told Dad that I wanted to go on it. Finally I was seated in the carriage to a magic world sitting in all my majesty on a pretty bench, listening to the tinkling tunes as it went slowly around and around. All too soon the ride came to an end and Dad took me around to a concession and bought us ice cream sodas. Treat on top of treat, cloud nine for me.

I went on rides that were progressively faster, swervier or both as the day festivaled on. My little being was in wonderment and happiness, this was the best time I ever had I thought. I ate up the fast stuff to the max

We had lunch in a shady spot and Dad and Mom gently got me to lay down for awhile. I did so thinking I could stay awake, but I slipped into a dream world of fantasy and slept for a bit. When I woke up we talked about the things I had seen and rode as well as about the plantings, I wish I could remember our exact words and flow of our conversation. All I can remember now is what the general thread was, I do remember that I enjoyed it immensely and felt real grown up.

Soon Dad said, "Remember that whooshing noise and the rattling sound you asked me about?" "Lets take another ride or two and then go see what that is." My fascination increased as I went on more rides. We continued walking and the sound was becoming increasingly loud. I didn't yet see what made it but was catching glimpses of some kind of train moving around going up and down on this flimsy trestle fabrication. We arrived at the ticket booth and Dad bought two tickets, saying, "I want to ride on this too."

My first ride on a roller coaster soon got under way, slowly going up that long hill, suddenly the track disappeared and the carriage and passengers descended with increasing speed to the bottom and into a sharp curve and then up, up and down again. It was the most thrilling thing that ever happened to me. At the end of the ride I begged Dad to take me again he paid the man and we went again, my appreciation of the ride grew more and more as we did the second round.

Then the ride was over and Dad took me to a pit stop, I was glad because I was about to burst but wouldn't give in while the world of speed and thrills was happening for me.

It wasn't dusk yet but the shadows were growing quite long. Dad said, "We've had a good day and lots of fun, it's time to go now." I didn't want to go but was too tired to put up a fuss. We caught the streetcar which was another fun thing for me. The old cars were flexible and you could see the front end twist one way while your end twisted the opposite way, fun for this kid. I don't know when I slipped into sleep, but I did just waking up enough to get off, walk to car we were transfering to, mount the steps, get sat down and drift off to sleep again. Dad and Mom walked me home, but I was still in Elitch's riding the rides and walking through my Garden of Eden.

Funny thing, I can't remember the time between arriving home and going to bed. Knowing myself I am sure I put up a fight, I do remember though, I was at Elitch's again in my dreams.

Tire covers, "See Elitch's and die," finally began to have meaning for me then, i.e. after Elitch's, there was nothing grander to see. I had truly lived in, "A Child's Garden Of Verses," that day and each verse spelled out in glowing letters FUN.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008