Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 09, 2004 - 22:29 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Mother's Day 2004

Yesterday I vacuumed, dusted, washed mirrors and tidied up the patio, knowing my services would be needed inside today.

Today Heather rose before me and read her card and received my contribution to pay for a bed spread and pillows, then coffee, banana and pills taken we approached the work at hand.

We made a huge salad, hopefully if son keeps it refrigerated will last him all week. Heather made chicken Parmesan ready for the oven, cooked other things for son's dinner while I tried to keep up with washing pots and pans. I gathered stuff to send home with him into a convenient group.

Then our daughter came with her son and husband and had brought our youngest son with them to avoid him having to drive (which he intended to do). Mother's gifts and cards were exchanged. Came time for drinks, cake, conversation and taking pictures and showing other pictures. Visiting abounded. Finally our son began to wilt and daughter noticed it first and started the process of leaving.

I went downstairs to bring our vehicle up to where they were parked and her hubby unloaded one of those big cases of bottled water to take, then went in to bring all the other stuff bound for son's apartment. She and her hubby told me they were going to carry in his stuff for him, which relieved me much.

We had a hiatus of an hour or so. Oldest son and his wife came, bearing gifts, card and a dining room chair he had repaired for us. Then card exchange, gifts for Heather opened, pictures taken and others shown. Some of the pictures were from Heather's trip to the Keys. Pictures of the house we once lived in and the elementary school he attended in his early years. He was quite interested in how the neighborhood had changed in 44 years. He also pored over the pictures Heather took of her trip to the Keys Those were taken when Heather was in Tampa on her way home. Much visiting ensued, finally they decided to go home and left with an Impatiens for his wife, the lady with the green thumb. Heather watched the rest of Survivor and I stumbled to the keyboard.

Not too long after that our daughter in Eugene called her mom and they had a good talk. Which made Heather's day complete.

We took our daughter from the assisted living home out yesterday to her favorite place and tomorrow we will go to our oldest son's house to see his son, wife and their baby which is the youngest of the bunch of grandchildren on the scene. They came down from Casper, Wyoming for a few days.

His name is Ian, a kind of switch on my first name which is Ion -- his dad just had to make things different, but still 'tis an honor.

Just before Heather went to bed she stepped in and told me to wish all the mothers who might read this diary a very happy Mother's Day, and of course I second the motion. It is a bit late I know, but we still hope all Mothers did have a prime day.

Now to read the paper. That was Mother's Day 2004 . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008