Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 10, 2004 - 21:41 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Never Over

So, Mother's Day was yesterday. The recognition of Mom as a neat lady has had its sway over the men frantic to find a gift, any gift -- to do their duty to the occasion.

Then back to the "status quo" of regular life for another year.

But, day after day, Moms keep giving their all to their children. Even after they grow up and move away Mom's loving efforts toward her child's or children's welfare and happiness continue on into the years, not abating.

Some Mothers have to work a job, do the shopping, come home and do housework while showing love and attention to her brood, and miraculously they do.

Also there are some men trying to fulfil the duties of both Mom and Dad and are sorely tried with the effort to do so. Honorary Moms they are.

But, Mom's are not like Christmas trees to be undecorated in a few days and put away until next year . . . . . . . I think it hard for this man to understand just how much toil is involved in being a mother and wishes he could be, deep in his soul the kind of Mother his Mother was or is and have the intimate, deep love that comes to a Mother for her child.

I can only wish. I didn't carry any of our children to term, hold them in my arms, nurse them, cuddle them and sweat it out while they are sick, praying for their recovery, therefore I will never feel the exact feeling that a Mother has. I see it exhibited many times over by Moms that I see, understand it, support it, but will never have true Mother love in my being.

Would it not be neat if the parenthood duty be rotated from one parent to the other, Mom to carry one and Dad the next ? Maybe then the man would experience true Mother love as a Mother does.

Maudlin old man that I am, I rave. But really, Mothers continually give of themselves, day after day, no matter what. So, aside from a present or two and maybe flowers and dinner out once a year, actually Mother's day is really not over, it goes on 24-7-365 forever. Her day is Never Over . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008