Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 19, 2004 - 22:47 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Mixed Memories

Leaving hospital tonight, as we walked to the car, memories of times past stirred my mind about the many times I have visited someone in the hospital. Some pleasant, but all too few were.

Thinking as I rode home with Heather tonight about the many visits over the years we have made to hospitals and the "Outer Limits" feeling I get when visiting.

The condition of the person I am visiting is known by me, but it occurs to me that many years of pain, debility and suffering still haunt the halls, forever more.

It closes in on me as I enter, and hangs about me as a mist of misery while I am there and leaves me as I depart.

No wounds to heal, no permanent psychic imbalance. Yet it clings to my cuffs and shoes and drips off as I leave. Just the realization that a visit should be upbeat and humorous if possible steels me on my way in. No skeleton at the feast sort of thing or downcast features.

When I go into a hospital there is an aura of sadness, lost hope and suffering. Yet when our children were born, and the grandchildren and greatgrandchildren came along those were happy times to visit. Like many other things in my life, there are Mixed Memories . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008