Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 20, 2004 - 21:56 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Just Gray

Sometimes life sort of all runs together, same old stuff - new day.

My location tonight. Nothing remarkably new other than son is feeling a bit better today.

Heather and I were able to sit on the patio in reasonable comfort for a time today then back again across the metro-area to the hospital, which somehow seems to take up the main part of the day.

I glance at the papers and see more of the sos, just a bit further along.

One thing striking my mind is an article in the Rocky Mountain News today by Douglas Jehl and Eric Schmitt of The New York Times,

Army goal: Shut Red Cross' Eyes

In part: "WASHINGTON -- Army officials in Iraq responded late last year to a Red Cross report of abuses at Abu Ghraib prison by trying to curtail the international agency's spot inspections of the prison, a senior Army officer who served in Iraq said Tuesday."

"After the International Committee of the Red Cross observed abuses on two unannounced inspections in October and complained in writing on November 6, the military responded that inspectors should make appointments before visiting that cell block, site of the worst abuses."

+++++++++++++++

If that is the straight skinny, the people in charge and the Army lawyers who drafted the answer should all be court martialed according to my feelings. That consists of building an iron curtain around a prison to prevent any inspection by a neutral organization.

This day for us has been Just Gray . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008