Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 29, 2004 - 22:06 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Me Too

An article in the Rocky Mountain News some time ago by Michelle Malkin of Creator's Syndicate.

Officials snub multicultural blather -- in plain English

"Two politicians in Maryland are now in trouble for stating the obvious: People who work in customer service should speak English. And out of control multiculturalism is to blame for the failure to preserve America's common language."

"The professional victims are up in arms as usual -- demanding apologies, whining to the press and clamoring for government subsidies to nurse their hurt feelings. But for once, the truth tellers refuse to back down. They are role models for the rest of the nation's spine-deprived public officials."

+++++++++++++++++++

Her article goes on at length, citing things I have been feeling all along. To put it in my words, "People who do not speak English should work in jobs where they do not have to communicate with English speaking people. Surely a company has jobs of that kind and the ability to put non-English speaking people there.

She tells of a man who walked into a McDonald's restaurant to order his usual for the morning -- hot tea and a biscuit, and having a problem with an English-less new hire, this man quit going to McDonalds. And she tells of other instances of the same type of thing.

We frequented a cafeteria type restaurant for years, because of the peace, good food and courtesy of the workers. But then, the staff behind the serving counter could not speak English. First a few and then most of them were not able to understand what anyone asked. Couldn't tell you if it was spicy hot, had vinegar, was sweet and anything else asked of them. We got tired of it and quit going there. One day we went by and the place was closed up. There is another of the same-owned cafeterias across town and occasionally when we are over there we drop in and have a meal. No language problem there, it is still going strong.

I keep running into places that have the same kind of staff -- totally useless for communicating with English speaking customers.

I have absolutely no objection to people without English working in an environment where they don't have to speak English and not have to wait on English speakers.

Like Michelle Malkin, I am getting tired of getting a phone menu when trying to get hold of a live body and the first thing ? If you wish English -- press 1. Similar thing with some ATMs.

If I were in a country for a short time I can see not learning that language -- but if my stay would be for several years or the rest of my life, I would be in school - soonest - to learn the language of the country.

To my way of thinking, due to the beginning of this country the language was English. English is the language of our country. In days past people who came here learned English. Some of the older folks couldn't master the language, but they insisted on their children learning English.

If things keep going the way they are, a school child in the USA will have to learn all the languages used in this country, or sit through multi-lingual classes.

I don't think I am biased and can't see why people can not use their native language at home and English where that language is needed in their work.

When it comes to preserving English for the USA it is so very easy for me to say Me Too . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008