Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 11, 2004 - 20:06 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

My Children ?

Hid away in the middle of our paper, a short item of international news. Rocky Mountain News, June 11, 2004.

SWITZERLAND

U.N. report: Millions of children in bondage

"Geneva -- An estimated 10 million children worldwide are forced to work in slave-like condiions as domestic servants in private homes, the United Nations' labor agency said Thursday."

"The International Labor Organization said in a new report that in parts of West Africa, Central America and Asia, thousands of girls as young as 8 work 15 or more hours a day, seven days a week, for little or no pay.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

From things I have read through the years, it is easy to see that slavery has not disappeared but if anything grown a lot, spread across the world it is too.

Little children working 15 or more hours a day - 7 days a week. I myself have worked hours like that and at 7 days a week too, at the age and height of my capabilities. Not as a slave and for short times. It was a grueling, soul sucking period when even though paid overtime and double time I was so tired that I would have given up the money for just a little rest.

But the idea of children, working under slave conditions which means little to eat and damn few clothes or sympathy or place to plead their case is such a revolting idea to me that it makes me want to hurl.

All these organizations with the facts and figures are pleading the case of slaves, but no body or nation seems to be paying any attention. The U.N. doesn't seem to give a damn or can't get any nation to stop that evil process and I don't think our country is very active in that area either.

Lip service seems to be the most that enslaved children ever get.

This makes me very sad that things are in such a state that cruelty like that exists nowadays. It makes me pray. How susceptible to slavery are the children of My Children ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008