Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 14, 2004 - 21:42 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Another Newspaper

We got up and away early (for us) this morning and spent morning and part of the afternoon across town with our daughter, the one who did so much for Rob as he fought his battle.

As we crossed the Metro area the weather was clement and sunny, people were doing people things in a peaceful manner. Hadn't been noticing that too much recently, mea culpa.

Our daughter is in her recently purchased house, right next door to her daughter. Finally she is in a place roomy enough that she can do her thing the way she wants to. Room enough for everything. Nice yard and all. We had a good visit across the table, coffee cake and coffee being consumed and conversation cheerful and staying away from gloom and doom. Then Heather and our daughter went next door to her daughter's to finalize their trip to Las Vegas for a few days by use of a computer for reservations.

This is to be the trip that Rob wanted to go on with his sis and Mom before he began to ail so much. Trip being nailed down they came back and we visited some more.

We left there intending to go to Fort Logan to visit Rob's grave, but remembering the weather forecast today for near ninety degrees again we decided to do a couple of other needed things and make a trip there early tomorrow morning in the cool. Stopped and had a Philly Cheese - steak sandwich for lunch and thence home.

I went through our Rocky Mountain News paper page by page and back again. Finding nothing I was looking for (good news) and really finding none I got caught up in Tina Greigo's column:

Confusion, compassion on lunch menu

Following is part of her column.

"The bishop and I met for lunch. He ordered enchiladas, no cheese. I ordered a calorie-soaked Reuben and fries figuring I was on the road to hell, anyway."

"I vote Democrat. Most Democratic candidates support abortion rights, and, according to some bishops, my support for them may place my soul in jeopardy. Not to mention the fact that I, too, support abortion rights and am, therefore, at odds with my church. "Out of communion," the bishops call it. A lousy Catholic, I called myself in the column that led to the lunch."

"I called the bishop -- Auxilary Bishop Jose Gomez -- the day the column ran. He baptized my son. I like him very much. "Where did you get the idea that there were perfect Catholics ?" he asked me, sounding amused, and then puzzled. I do not know where you are going with this." "Am I still a Catholic " I asked. "Yes," he said, his voice gentle."

"Almost 300 U.S. bishops will gather here this week for a private meeting sure to include its share of public spectacle. They will discuss, among other things, the connection some wish to strengthen between the pew and the ballot box. It seems like a good time to revisit the "lousy Catholic" business for the benefit of you Catholics -- cradle, cultural, converted, conservative and just plain confused. For those of you juggling what is moral with what is legal."

"It's the hardest job of a priest, I heard a monsignor say recently, to be a good shepherd to his flock, to guide people, stubborn and self absorbed, who proclaim their faith as long as it doesn't become inconvenient. We must persuade them, he said, that we say what we say out of love. Like I said, that message is definitely not getting out."

"It doesn't help that some bishops appear to be willing to hold the Body Of Christ hostage in order to goad the flock. Recant or reap the consequences. Since most Democrats support abortion rights, it is no wonder that some see these pronouncements as de facto endorsements of Republican candidates. The right to choose becomes the right to choose Communion or the party. The right to belong versus the right to leave."

"I oversimplify, I know. Then again, I just read that President Bush, during his recent visit to Rome, nudged a Vatican cardinal to encourage American bishops to speak out more on political issues such as gay marriage. I'm assuming that doesn't include the war."

"Bishop Gomez says it's hard to say whether someone who votes for a candidate who supports abortion rights is in mortal sin and so should refrain from Communion. Questions arise. Is the parishioner well formed in the faith ? Does the candidate have an established record of supporting abortion rights ? All this must be taken into consideration, he says."

"My grandpa's priest once told him not to read the Bible because it only would confuse him. That was before Vatican II, when the church was a frowning, stern mother who found everything sinful. Perhaps the pendlum is swinging back in that direction. "No," he said, "it's a reaction to society." "Abortion was not an issue when John F. Kennedy was president. Marriage was defined as the union of man woman. The basic things we took for granted are being challenged, so we need to speak out."

"The bishop tells me -- as Archbishop Chaput has -- that he does not want a church made up of blind followers. They want thinkers, searchers. "What should I do ?" I asked him. "Study," he said. "Study your faith. Go to the source. Read documents, letters, the Catechism. This ultimately, is why the bishops are speaking out. We want people to know their faith so they can enjoy practicing it and eventually go to heaven."

"In your search," he predicted with confidence, "you will know the truth." "What if I still can't agree ?" "Then you should question your belonging to the church. It doesn't make too much sense to say we are in communion when we are not. But we shouldn't become indifferent to our faith. If you like your job, you study, practice, try to learn more. Let's not pretend to be a practicing Catholic while not knowing the life and teaching of Christ."

"I'm not sure what the outcome of this week's meeting will be. I'm actually not sure how much it matters outside the politics. The questions that need to be answered, the journey awaiting, must, in the end, be personal

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have read many of this lady's columns and have began to admire her greatly -- she speaks common sense more than anyone I know of that writes for newspapers.

What a confusing and soul wracking time she is in right now.

Then too she doesn't mention the sexual abuse atmosphere surrounding the church now. But whether mentioned or not, it is there.

I canot say more than that I sympathize with Mrs. Griego in her predicament and hope that she arrives at peace with her church and world.

Also it seems to me that separation of church and state is in great danger from all sides. Each side jockeying for supremacy. Much like the football teams -- each side kneeling and praying to the same God that they be victorious in their game. Of course that parallels, kings and countries of the world who have done the same things in their wars, and the outcome was blood, bones, shattered lives and poverty for the losers.

Even if I say I believe in one God and that my faith is firm -- I stand the chance that each side will want to give me the third degree to find out if I belong. I belong to God, not their exclusive, elitist club.

I gave up looking, no point in buying Another Newspaper . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008