Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 20, 2004 - 21:02 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Not the only ones

"Dear Wondering Jew, seems that you are wordless tonight, how come ?"

Still wallowing in the wake of today I guess. This year our wedding annversary was also today. Neither of us remembered until late this afternoon. A promised trip to Noodles to Heather and I'll find some other way to show my love.

From this morning until a few minutes ago we had company. First our daughter who took care of Rob in his last days, her one son and her husband were with us for several hours. Then this afternoon both of Rob's daughters, their husbands and children came over for dinner. Everybody in all cases was polite and gregarious. We had much conversation about many things. A couple of us saw our Rockies beat -- (just the last part).

Everybody is gone, the apartment cleaned up. I sat with Heather for a while 'til a show she wanted to see came on TV and then came here to the keyboard.

Then the day crashed around my heart, the realization that Grandpa Rob wouldn't be in his usual place here playing with his grandchildren. He never missed a family celebration - ever.

He is gone -- we all miss him sorely, but yet realize that he was in too much pain to have any enjoyable life further on. He fought to the last, bravely but then breathed his last. I remember sitting at the hospital, holding his foot in my hand after he passed, just like I did when we visited him while he lived.

But, life goes on and so must we, all of us. But we still wave good bye to him and wish him well.

Of course there are many people alive today that have had kin taken before their time, who have suffered loss, so we are Not The Only Ones . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008