Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 30, 2004 - 18:52 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Frustration

In yesterday's paper Jun. 30th is an article by Paisley Dodds of the Associated Press, in part,

Guantanamo sets first tribunal

Three detainees will be tried on al-Aqida links, war crimes

"GUANTANAMO BAY NAVAL BASE, CUBA -- The U.S. military�has formed a tribunal to preside over the first trials of terror suspects held at Guantanamo Bay, officials said Tuesday."

"The Penatagon announcement came a day after the Supreme Court ruled that prisoners at Guantanamo Bay can appeal their detention to civilian courts."

"That ruling was a blow to President Bush's stance that the United States can jail terror suspects without judicial review and that the Cuban base was outside the reach of U.S. Courts."

"The trials -- -- would be the first military tribunals convened by the United States since the end of World War Two."

"This is an important first step," said Air Force Maj. John Smith, a lawyer who helped draft the five-member tribunal rules. "We'd like to have a case tried by the end of the year."

"The first to be tried will be David Hicks of Australia, Ali Hamza Ahmed Sulayman al Bahlul of Yemen,and Ibraham Ahmed Mahal Qosi of Sudan -- the only detainees charged to date and three of only four allowed access to lawyers."

"The men have been charged with conspiracy to commit war crimes and other offenses that carry sentences of up to life imprisonment, the Pentagon has said, ruling out death sentences for the three."

"The tribunals are empowered to deliver the death sentence if members are unanimous."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The "Prisoners can appeal their detention to civilian courts." So perhaps all the detainees (prisoners) not so charged can fill the civil courts with appeals ?

Hmmm.

Three are charged and will be tried by a military tribunal. Guess the CinC came up with Plan B, a military tribunal. I wonder if that makes sense ? Doesn't make much to me, but I am not knowledgeable about such things, but it seems to me that those three should be tried in a Civilian U.S. court, not a military court ? ? ? ?

Now there are, "about 600 detainees from 52 countries." So there are about 597 detainees being held incommunicado, cut off from lawyers, telephones or touch with the outside in any way, not charged just being held. So, how many years can they do that ?

Maybe Jim of Jim's Journal can straighten me out on this -- he knows a lot more than I do.

Last night was a bummer, tried to make an entry when the power went off. That times three. No notes to copy from, just off the top of my head.

Power was on and off intermittently, tried to send a notify and as I pressed send the power went off again. On and Off more times. After a long delay the power came back on again, and not seeing a notify in my in box I sent another notify. The power going out again, I went to bed with a handy dandy flashlight beside my bed for pit stops in the night.

Remember Fiddler On The Roof ? The song sung by Tevye (Topol in the picture) with great enthusiasm and verve ? "Tradition," oh my, what a dilemma Tevye was in.

Anyhow, to the same tune, but with as strong an emphasis, perhaps I can come up with the words for the song, "Frustration . . . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008