Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 09, 2004 - 21:24 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

A Dog In A Fog

Heather and I cleaned the pantry this morning, then I took a nap for two hours. Woke up foggy but was able to clean up, dress as well as I could, then we went across town to cousin Alice's Memorial Service. Of course I could not hear a word said by the pastor, which is my norm most of the time. After the service we were able to get one on one with some of our relatives and hug the ones that didn't stay to talk. Pleasant, loving discourse was had. Folks from out of town we seldom see were there.

I think it was an effort of Heather's to cheer me up when she said, "Let's stop at Noodles Inc. and have a rather early dinner." As we rode back aross town I closed my eyes and did a rerun of happy memories of Alice and family. Only having a bite before we left the apartment I was happy to eat somewhat early. There we each had our favorite bowl of pasta, Pasta Pesto Cavatappi and a soft drink. My eyes getting heavy we hopped in the car and went home.

When we got there I managed to strip out of my good clothes, hang them up and before I put on my house uniform I crawled into the sack and slept for four hours. That on top of a full night's sleep, a two hour nap, then another hiatus from the world for four hours.

Partly perhaps an overload of grief, but I think it's mostly the accumulated fatigue that has been building since early spring this year. Feel that I can sleep the night with no problem. Lengthy sleeping is one symptom of depression, but I think not in my case, mostly tired perhaps. Psychologically one might say I am suffering from SAD in the summer.

Leafed through the paper the last two days but all I saw was conjecture and tattling from the world and the media. However I did see a beautiful picture of the Rings Of Saturn from Cassini, by the UV Spectra and also noted that a painting of Johannes Vermeer, "Woman Seated At The Virginals" was bought for $30 million Wednesday at Sothebys in London, England." A bit of cheer and of interest to me, both were.

And so to bed, because this old man is tonight, A Dog In A Fog . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008