Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 14, 2004 - 22:12 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Does It ?

Sometimes I wonder and sometimes I wonder as I wander - bouncing off corners and tripping on steps, none the latter being much help it seems. Still, I wonder, is it necessary for a person to be in a condition of confusion all the time ?

An article in todays paper, the Rocky Mountian News by Robert Pear of The New York Times - In full:

Employers apt to cut retiree drug plans

"WASHINGTON -- New government estimates suggest that employers will reduce or eliminate prescription drug benefits for 3.8 million retirees when Medicare offers such coverage in 2006."

"That represents one-third of all the retirees with employer-sponsored drug coverage, according to documents from the Department of Health and Human services."

"No aspect of the new Medicare law causes more concern among retirees than the possibility of losing benefits they already have."

"Democrats are likely to cite the new estimates as evidence to support their contention that the new law will prompt some employers to curtail drug coverage for retirees, forcing them, in some cases, to rely on Medicare's leaner benefits. Republicans do not want to see the government supplant employers in providing drug benefits to retirees."

"Senior officials at the dapartment have been saying for weeks that they believe federal subsidies will induce more employers to continue providing drug benefits to retirees. Under the new Medicare law, the government expects to spend $71 billion on subsidies to employers from 2006 to 2013. To qualify for assistance, an employer must certify that its retiree drug benefits are worth at least as much as the standard Medicare benefit."

"Federal officials have substantial discretion in deciding how to measure the value of drug benefits. They said they would use that discretion to encourage employers to continue providing drug coverage -- a goal ardently favored by retirees, labor unions and members of Congress from both parties."

"When Medicare officials held an open-door forum on June 9, they were deluged with complaints from Medicare beneficiaries alarmed at the prospect of cuts in retiree drug coverage."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This is one of those articles that leave me shaking my head and coming up with my deaf man's comment, "What did he say ?"

First paragraph, what government agency estimates are these ?

Third paragraph, such an obvious comment, I really think.

Fourth paragraph -- "Democrats are likely," Who says, with what evidence ? "Republicans do not want to see . . ." again what Republicans, who are they, how many of them are there ?

Fifth paragraph -- "Senior officials at the department . . ." what senior officials and are they speaking in an official capacity ? Subsidies to employers ? Haven't read a thing about that here.

Sixth paragraph -- "Federal officials have substantial discretion in deciding how to measure the value of drug benefits . . . ." Here we go with this discretion bit again. First off has the sentence any truth in it ? How much discretion will they have ? Who will have it ? Who does he or she answer to or is overseen by, or account to ?

Seventh paragaph -- Seems to me that this states a fact that would be the obvious reaction --- " . . . . complaints from Medicare beneficiaries alarmed at the prospect of cuts in retiree drug coverage."

Maybe I am just picky, picky tonight, but this article set my teeth on edge. Too many nits to pick, too little proof offered.

Much of the stuff in the news comes up with this, "Senior officials say . . ." without backing it up with which officials say. Or, Democrats want this, Republicans want that, stuff -- with no names . To my mind I want names or silence -- someone who can be officially quoted. This has been the custom for too many years I think. Senior officials say something and then say don't quote me on it. So it hits the newpapers as gospel truth, but the official remains anonymous.

I am guilty of falling for that in the news, and am looking back over my shoulder and shaking my head.

Another thing in my mind is that so much in the news is conjecture and I wonder if that conjecture eventually makes it come to pass ? It doesn't have to Does It ? . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008