Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 17, 2004 - 21:26 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Follies

The sex scandal at the University of Colorado, stemming from recruiting practices used to garner hot football players has been added to by charges of rape leveled by women who attended recruiting parties.

Lawsuits and all, recriminations galore. University of Colorado President Betsy Hoffman wouldn't say whether using the C-word constitutes sexual harassment.

Takes me back to the old days, maybe of The Virginian where the hero said, "Smile when you say that," when some insult or another was offered. In good natured fun, and of course with a smile I have called my friends some of the awfullest names. Having received the same many times over. Way of life in a factory environment but it was good natured.

But when it comes to recruiting scandals, the use of the C-word toward women doesn't seem to me to be apropos. Rather a demeaning term for a woman who is looked upon with scorn as it appears many of the ladies involved were looked at with scorn. There was a woman place-kicker on the CU team who leveled charges of harassment against the CU sports department.

All along the line it appears to me that each step up the ladder, all the folks covered for each other. Reminds me of some of the mothers of the miscreant boys who said, "Oh, my boy would never do that." Seems to me to be about that level of CYA activity is going on at CU.

An article in the Rocky Mountain News this morning deals with some of this stuff. Quote, "A University of Colorado campus police detective, in a some-times tearful statement, said that top football officials pressured his department to treat misbehaving footall players more leniently than other students." "Once, either coach Gary Barnett or director of football operations David Hansburg suggested laps instead of arrest for a player who had attacked a parking lot attendant," said CU Detective Tom Delaria, a 30 year veteran of the department."

The longer this mess goes on the more yuck is uncovered and the stink becomes more overpowering.

Those alumni who are rich sports fans and looked upon as Godfathers -- could it be they encouraged such things ? Makes me wonder.

To my way of looking at it, the famous University of Colorado is now besmirched. The achievement of many of the departments in science, medicine and other academic efforts have been degraded in my opinion. To my way of looking at it punishment should be meted out with an even, fair hand. Same punishment for the same offense. So if it is a football player and the offense requires jail time -- put him in jail !

Month after month it goes on, the Fiasco Follies . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008