Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 22, 2004 - 21:18 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

COOL WATER

As I grew up this song threaded its way into my heart and soul, because of where I lived.

COOL WATER

All day I've faced the barren waste,

Without the taste of water:

Cool water. (Water)

Old Dan and I, with throats burned dry,

And souls that cry for water, (Water)

Cool, (Water)

Clear (Water)

Water (Water)

Keep a movin' Dan,

Don't you listen to him, Dan

He's the devil, not a man:

Spreads the burnin' sand with water. (Water)

Dan, can you see that big green tree,

Where the water's runnin' free ? (Water)

It's waitin' there for me and you, (Water)

The nights are cool, and I'm a fool,

Each star's a pool of water, Cool Water (Water)

But with the dawn I'll wake and yawn,

And carry on to water

Water (Water)

Water (Water)

Keep a movin, Dan

Don't you listen to him, Dan

He's the devil not a man:

Spreads the burnin' sand with water (Water)

, Dan, can you see that big green tree ? (Water)

Where the water's runnin' free

Waitin' there for me and you ?

Cool (Water)

Clear (Water)

Water (Water)

Cool, (Water)

Clear (Water)

Water (cool, clear water)

Those lyrics attributed to Frankie Laine in Cowboy Lyrics, but I've heard the same words used by other folks too. Sons of the Pioneers had a version of that -- but I think not as haunting as the one I placed here.

Perhaps these lyrics belong in the poetry book of W. H. Knibbs -- "Songs Of The Outlands." A country where is appreciated that blessing of COOL WATER . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008