Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 25, 2004 - 22:30 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Happy Party Time

The sun shone, temperature mild, it was such an ideal day that a party would be quite in order. We had one, however it had pretty much been planned weeks before. What a great party.

Not too many people attended, our nuclear family, some of their mates and offspring, minus one - Rob. Doesn't sound like much of an affair, but we feel that the only way it could have been better would be if Rob could have attended.

Our daughter passed the 41 year old mark on the 18th but the party was today while she is still visiting us. Seems like nothing in our family happens on the exact date. Usually a day on the weekend, it is done. And in this instance waiting for her and her family to get to Denver and then wait for the weekend.

Heather and I treasure this day, daughter visited up a storm all afternoon, said goodbye to them all as they left. And then she and her family left to go to her brother's house (oldest son's). Her hubby and son went over to a basket ball court at son's church and daughter and her daughter to visit with son and his wife.

We expect they will stay late as son has to go to work tomorrow but might have time to shoot the breeze a bit before they retire.

Tomorrow I think a trip to the mountains is planned for the daughter, her family, Heather and I. So I'll fill my Helios (good for over eight hours) and take along the supplementary tank, which holds about the same, minus whatever leakage occurs between filling time and the start of actual use. Found out that after filling the oxygen leaks off gradually even if not being used. So I should be good for a day trip into the mountains. The two of us have been hankering to go and waiting for them to come. Her man was raised in Boulder and has good memories of the mountains here also. There is plenty of food to pack for a picnic left over from the party. Good time ahead I think.

After family left it became very quiet and blues drifted in for me, Heather not so much as she was dozing and periodically watching TV.

I guess a contact with a fellow journaler this morning was working on me a bit. Seems like one of her neighbors attempted suicide. The journaler was wondering if there was a possibility of him making another attempt. I didn't have time to go into it then and told her I would converse cyber-like later.

Thinking this evening, I remembered Ginko, that dear lady journalist who committed suicide. Her site is still there including her husbands farewell and tribute. I sent her the urls, there might be some understanding for her there.

I myself have been the route once. If it had not been for Heather stopping by, it would have been a successful one. I'll have to write her more of the little I know and try to help her understand that no one should feel guilt about another's suicide. At least I don't think so. Gingko was a fine artist with many other fine qualities, I miss her journal yet.

The family is back now. They had a fun time at basketball and the ladies had a great time visiting. That cheered me up a bit.

Today we had a marvelous Happy Party Time . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008