Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 08, 2004 - 17:30 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Comic Section

Had to chuckle off and on yesterday over an article I saw buried back in the Rocky Mountain News by Terence Hunt of the Associated Press -- In part:

Bush: End college legacy system

"WASHINGTON -- President Bush, who followed his father and grandfather to Yale University despite an undistinguished academic record, said Friday that colleges should get rid of "legacy" admission preferences that favor the sons and daughters of alumni."

"I think it ought to be based on merit," Bush told a conference of minority journalists when he was pressed about his views on affirmative action. "And I think colleges need to work hard for diversity."

"Bush's father, President George H.W. Bush, and his grandfather the late Sen. Prescott Bush, were awarded degrees at Yale, and his daughter Barbara, graduated from Yale this year."

"Colleges' admission processes have never been equal for everyone. Universities have beem known --- and criticized --- for making special allowances for athletes, and children of donors and alumni."

"Asked directly if colleges should eliminate legacy preferences, Bush said, "Well I think so, yes."

"Most selective colleges and many public universities favor legacy applicants as a way to build family loyalty and boost fund raising. Colleges respond that legacies are often stronger applicants to begin with, and insist they largely consider legacy status only to break ties between (well qualified) applicants."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My opinions. Tongue-tangled Bush did it again I think, in spades -- removing both feet from his mouth long enough to speak those words of forked-tonguing, most ridiculous words of trying to be everything to everybody I have ever laughed at.

That's our legacied pres. speaking, whose daughter was probably legacied through Yale too.

Sure reminds me of The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz, hiding behind a curtain, using a PA system and video, trying to pull the wool over everyone's eyes. Only difference in my mind is that perhaps the original Wizard had a kinder heart.

Stated in the article is how things have always been. Also stated in the article the excuses that Colleges and Universities have made. Digging themselves deeper by saying, "that legacies are often stronger applicants to begin with, and insist they they largely consider legacy status only to break ties between well-qualified applicants." Hah, yeah right ! The richer and the closer to the top in politics probably.

As far as I think, colleges and universities have always been in favor of letting academically unqualified students in for only two reasons Poltics and Money donated. Athletic scholarships make me want to laugh, knowing that often the athletes do not have to exert themselves in studies like other students do.

This article, I think, should have been in the Comic Section . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008