Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 13, 2004 - 21:57 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Real Bad

Things go on as they tend to do. Good, medium and other wise. For Heather and I today was quite good. Wake up coffee and breakfast, newspaper and then out on an errand or two.

The weather - gorgeous. Blue sky, summer clouds that a painter would envy, a light breeze. Delightful really. Heather and I decided it was too nice to go back to our apartment so we stopped by Crestmoor Park, just across Monaco from where we live. Found a shaded spot that had benches and table and settled in. The park is not a flat piece of grass but with gentle swells in various directions. Has many trees of various kinds, a jogging/walking path around the perimeter and another to the playground. From where we were we happily watched grown folks, kids, dogs and birds all pleasantly doing their thing. So peaceful. We idly talked a bit while I off and on did a crossword puzzle when the conversation lagged, but then talked when the mood struck Heather again, it was easy to just sink back into total ease and comfort. Something I would have loved to do in my working life but never had time. No schedule, no time limit, no pressure to get something done. We wandered home after a while and had quite a late lunch, just a light bite it was knowing that supper time was not too far away.

Turned on the Weather Channel for a while to catch up on the hurricanes remembering how it was when we lived in Tampa, Florida. Even though we didn't get hit by one, we were on the edges and got a bunch of wind and way more than enough water. Made me think of those who couldn't get away and had to stick it out. The vast amount of money to board up places that might not be there when the owners returned. So many horrible things about hurricanes. Even to the sides there can be heavy damages, with the rain soaking the ground making it spongy along with a bit of wind the trees topple like dominoes. Thinking about acquaintances living in that area and wondering how they were doing and how they would do. Made me feel guilty that Heather and I for having such a pleasant time today.

Saw a couple of comics and an Ashleigh Brilliant that were good.

Ashleigh Brilliant said, "Those who claim that sex is better than chocolate obviously haven't tried certain types of chocolate." - - - - - Might be true for women but for the men ? We'll have to vote on that one. It was still a bit funny.

Then Non Sequitur showed a desert scene, a couple of those tall cacti, Monument Valley rock spires, a stretch of blacktop and a conventional booth, glassed in. A man holding a gas can standing in front of the window with the woman behind the glass saying, "I'm not authorized to actually do anything, sir . . . . the best I can do is inform you that you're screwed." - - - - - When I read that my temperature boiled over, thirst became extreme and the feeling of futility that I had experienced when walking with a gas can and car after car passed me on by, not even slowing down. Then it was so sad that it was hilarious.

The last panel, in a way said it all. The Fusco Brothers with one brother sounding off, "The evening news is so depressing . . . it makes me long for the fake, fantasy world of "Reality" shows.

Now that is Real Bad . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008