Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 21, 2004 - 19:37 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Went ?

Trying to unscrew the inscrutable. Wondering as usual.

Through my life I have met many people, worked along side of many or socially saw them often. Normally people are more or less ships that pass in the night for me. We see each other frequently but parting comes with fate you might say. I wish them well, think of them once in a blue moon when good memories arise.

But there are folks that strike a common chord in my being that even though we parted long ago my thoughts ever turn to, wondering how things went for them.

One instance is a Navy parachute rigger I knew for a short while when I was overseas. He was married to a national of the country, lived in a house owned in her name. There was also a car in her name too. I was impressed by the respect he showed his wife and the tenderness with which he treated her. The kindness and hospitality they extended to me. We all seemed to see things with the same eyes. Now this was no Handsome Harry and Pricess Di marriage. Both of them to my eye were plain people, nicer looking than I though.

I guess what intrigues me is that the story is nowhere finished in my mind. Eventually his Navy career would or will come to an end. I would like to know how the story approaches its end. Did he try and perhaps get her into the United States to live with him ? Did he become a citizen of her country ? How did they fare with their life ? Did they have a child or children ? When he retires or did if he is already there, what will he do ?

One of those quirks of life between folks, we were going to exchange mailing addresses so we could keep track of each other. A surprise to me was to be shipped out to the Philippines earlier than expected. No time to do more than throw my clothes in a bag and go for the airport. So we lost track of each other.

But he and his wife exist in my memory and I have imagined that he has had a very happy, productive life, I hope my imagination is valid.

I do wonder where in life he Went ? . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008