Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 28, 2004 - 17:18 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Fleeing Fate

In recoil perhaps from considering the move, Heather and I skipped school today as it were and did our thing.

Leisurely breakfast, news paper reading a bit. Thence north of town to buy produce, came by a favorite eating place and had a good meal. Then back to town and a sit at our favorite park. After a short time we prowled the nieghborhood looking for garage sales.

Found a few - most garages already gone though. But did find one who had interesting stuff to sell. Heather picked up a thing or two, I spent time looking at books. I couldn't resist buying a few.

Picked up - Family Reunion by Ogden Nash (a contemporary of Dorothy Parker I think). Just taking a quick look I found one of his poems that somewhat describes me.

It's Never Fair Weather

I do not like the winter wind

That whistles from the North.

My upper teeth and those beneath,

They jitter back and forth.

Oh, some are hanged and some are skinned,

And others face the winter wind.

---------------

I do not like the summer sun

That scorches the horizon.

Though some delight in Fahrenheit,

To me it's deady pizen.

I think that life would be more fun

Without the simmering sun.

-------------

I do not like the signs of spring,

The fever and the chills,

The icy mud, the puny bud,

The frozen daffodils.

Let oher poets gayly sing;

I do not like the signs of spring.

--------------

I do not like the foggy fall

That strips the maples bare;

The radiator's mating call,

The dank rheumatic air.

I fear that taken all in all,

I do not like the foggy fall.

---------------

The winter sun is always kind,

And summer wind's a savior,

And I'll merrily sing of fall and spring

When they're on their good behavior.

But otherwise I see no reason

To speak in praise of any season.

Ogden Nash

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And then there is a shorty by him:

The Middle

When I remember bygone days

I think how evening follows morn;

So many I loved were not yet dead,

So many I love were not yet born.

Ogden Nash

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

He had a knack of speaking the truth with tongue in cheek and a twinkling eye. "And I'll merrily sing of fall and spring -- when they're on good behavior." Classic Nash.

Things like this help me look at things and realize that there are others pointing the way for me to a proper outlook on life and drop my chin, grin and spin to later rest well.

So Heather and I spent the day, not doing what we should, but Fleeing Fate . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008