Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-28 - 18:43 MDT

June 28, 2000

Amount

A realization of reality strikes me tonight. The big things, we either suffer them or celebrate wildly. Bite the bullet and go one foot ahead of the other robotically until that period has been weathered or get lucky and see for ourselves the unbounded joy over a good "big" thing which can cause a weeklong celebration.

But the little things that oil the machinery of living sometimes seem larger that any of the big things. A pat by a mate, a loving glance, a thing done out of the goodness of someone's heart. More, as someone walking toward you and greets you with a smile, even on Monday. A gracious, "thanks a lot," said in a gentle voice. Good natured teasing by friends and relatives. On my special days when cards are given, there is always at least one or more fun pokin' cards stressing the weird things in life that are good for a laugh. Being waited on at the clinic's pharmacy counter by one who you know, who by your past experience is pleasant to deal with. Approaching a door with arms laden with packages and seeing a polite, smiling person open the door and hold it while you pass through.

There are thousands of little things that endure when the wild party is over. Some are a bit of self sacrifice, like here's the newspaper, would you like to read it first ? Some little things show you are cared for and a special person to that one. Other things happen, given to or done for you, joyfully because you are a member of their exclusive club, "Human." Some one extends courtesy to you in traffic, so unusual that your jaw drops in amazement and then you give a happy wave to show your appreciation and then - - - move it - move it !

It's the little things, inspiring music, well played in a peacful setting. Watching a gorgeous sunset after a long day of companionship with mate or S. O .

These things, most of them can't be shown in a list giving precedence to any one of them - - no rating from A to Z. How can one show a particular value to one over the other? Sometimes it is the time it is done, or by who, or for what reason - - - these things can change the value of each thing.

I have had many days that were especially good in my eyes - those days where many of the things I have just written about, happen to me in sequence or simultaneously. These events do not make me euphoric, but happily contented and remind me that I should make a little sparkle in some one else's eyes. Surprise a stranger, gives me urges to show an unknown person a smile or say a happy word to that one.

The little things, seem to me to be like a virus, one teeny one is highly, "virulent," and contagious and can cause a good mood to settle over many people's hearts. Would that it could infect the whole world, no more wars, no more cruelty, discrimination, selfishness, wouldn't that cause such cheerfulness, and gratitude to our higher power ? A trusting baby, tugging on my pants leg with love and trust in it's heart, knowing that it will be picked up, cosseted and caressed and cooed over - - - you bet, we men coo over things other than sexy women. If I continue on in this vein, I will melt into a puddle of, what ? Chocolate ice cream ? So, I will hang it up for the night. Thanks to my loving family, most who won't read this. It is the many little things that they are champions of demonstrating to each other that show what I am talking about. How can you rate the amount ?

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008