Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 17, 2004 - 23:39 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Refresher Course

A day of hard tiring work for Heather and I. Then a rather late dinner with Rob's daughters, their mates and offspring followed by a visit to Fort Logan National Cemetery. We had a somewhat tearful gathering around the stone, mostly by the daughters, which it should be I think. Heather and I, what can I say ? We cope. We grieve, but cope.

Then I read Bev's entry tonight. In the clear if my link doesn't work it is http://funnytheworld.com/2004/Sep/ 18.html I don't have time tonight to edit. Too tired and need bed.

Which led me into thinking a lot though.

Elderly, is that a bad word akin to the looked down upon "liberal" ? Heck, I'm old and not a bit ashamed of it. If someone wishes to sneer at this man because he is a bit further along the path, seems to me it shows that person's ignorance and failure to realize that they might be lucky enough to pass my age in comfort someday, or feel that things are all "me, me, me,me.

Too much for me to do and think about. But for sure I gratefully thank any kind person who opens a door, or gate, or gives me any kind of help at all. I can't fathom the old folk who snarl at someone's offer to help and say very nastily (sometimes with cuss words, "I can do it myself." But ain't that a heck of a way to hurt a strangers good nature and empathy for one who could get a lift from being helped.

I wasn't raised in a Far Eastern family, but their respect for and acknowledging a fact that surviving that long surely an elder must have much more wisdom than a younger one, was bred into me, and easily understood and accepted as a rule and a philosophy.

There is so much fun, pleasure and love in the world and life itself, why be downcast because the mile post numbers get higher and closer together ? Also why could another person feel that one being older is not to be looked at being a lower mortal ?

Guess that it is time to tuck in and snooze a bit, but there is a feeling that I have just been through a Refresher Course . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008